2019 Emerging Leaders

of Southern Vermont 

Deadline: March 15th, 2019

Please help us in supporting and nurturing our young professionals so they can be recognized and supported at a state level. A selection of 12 emerging leaders will be made by the Southern Vermont Young Professionals and the Shires Young Professionals selection committee.

The purpose of this nomination to better recognize and engage Young Professionals in their roles as leaders and change makers in the Southern Vermont economy.

During our second annual Southern Vermont Economy Summit, we recognized 24 emerging leaders of Southern Vermont in a recognition ceremony with guest speakers Commissioner Kurrle and Secretary Schirling. We are looking to carry on this tradition by highlighting Southern Vermont Young Professionals, and we need your help! 

​The young professionals nominated and recognized at this event will also be nominated for the VBM Vermont Rising Star award. We are well aware that we have an abundant number of emerging leaders in Southern Vermont, because we interact with them on a regular basis.


​​Helpful tips for nominations:

  • A young professional can only receive one Emerging Leader of Southern Vermont recognition (see list of past awardees below)

  • Nominee must be between 20 something and 40 something

  • Nominee must work in Vermont

  • You may submit as many  nominations as you'd like

Nominees will be notified of nomination and asked to supply a selection committee with more detailed information about themselves.


Thank you for your help and support!

Contact: Sarah Lang, Southern Vermont Young Professionals Coordinator, slang@brattelborodevelopment.com

2018 Emerging Leaders
  • Michelle Marrocco, Bennington County Industrial Corporation (Summit Award Winner)

  • Katherine Partington, Mondo Mediaworks (Summit Award Winner)

  • Forest Weyen, Bennington Rescue Squad

  • Taylor Knoop, United Way of Windham County

  • Betsy Dunham, Southern Vermont College

  • Silvia Cassano, Bennington Area Trails System

  • Bridget Struthers, Brattleboro School of Dance

  • Gregory Boshart, Maple Valley Design Build

  • Josh Roberts, Edward Jones

  • Kayla Becker, United Way of Vermont and Catamount Connections, Bennington County

  • Ken Lorenz, Spirits of Old Bennington

  • Laura Kamyk, Big Picture Farm

  • Michelle Demers, Vermont Department of Labor

  • Phoebe Connolly, Leland and Gray Union High School

  • Ricky Davidson, Boys and Girls Club- Brattleboro

  • Sarah Lang, Brattleboro Development Credit Corporation

  • Serenity Wolf, P.E., Stevens and Associates

  • Stacey Woods, Meadowbrook Gypsies LLC

  • Kayla Davis, Battenkill Valley Health Center

  • James Salerno, Hale Mountain Research

  • Jason Dolmetsch, MSK Engineering and Design

  • Rob Terry, Merck Forest

  • Michael Root, United States Post Office

  • Duncan Hilton, Community College of Vermont and St. Michael’s Episcopal Church

2017 Emerging Leaders
  • Dimitri Garder, Global Z International

  • Kristen Blaker, KristenBstudio

  • Daniel Strohl, Hemmings Motor News

  • Richard Berkfield, FoodConnects

  • Alyssa Sabetto, Windham Regional Commission

  • Sean Ashcraft, Camp Waubanong

  • Shanta Lee Gander, Southern Vermont Dance Festival 

  • Michele Mazur, Trinity Botanicals​


© 2017 by the SoVT Economic Development Summit. Proudly created with Wix.com. 

This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now